About the Collection

Congress established the Second Circuit Court of Appeals in 1891, originally with three judges. The court now has thirteen judges and sits in New York City at the Thurgood Marshall U.S. Courthouse in lower Manhattan. The appellate court hears appeals from the district courts within the circuit. The United States District Courts for the Second Circuit exercise federal jurisdiction in six districts within the states of Connecticut, New York, and Vermont. These are the trial courts for the circuit. Each district has multiple seats of court:

  • District of Connecticut (New Haven, Hartford, Bridgeport)
  • Eastern District of New York (Brooklyn, Central Islip)
  • Northern District of New York (Albany, Binghamton, Plattsburgh, Syracuse, Utica)
  • Southern District of New York (Manhattan, White Plains)
  • Western District of New York (Buffalo)
  • District of Vermont (Burlington, Rutland, Brattleboro)

Browse All Items

Most Recent Submissions

View more