Joseph Mark Lauinger Memorial Library at Georgetown University
Georgetown College (1789-1815)
After years of planning and construction, the Joseph Mark Lauinger Memorial Library opened its doors to students on April 6, 1970. The building was named in honor of Lieutenant Joseph Mark Lauinger, a 1967 alumnus who was killed while commanding a reconnaissance mission in Vietnam on January 8, 1970. Making the naming announcement, University President Robert J. Henle, S.J., stated that the decision ''reflects a tradition of dedication and devotion to Georgetown, to our Church and to mankind. It provides the entire Georgetown community with an enduring impetus and a perpetual reminder of devoted service and supreme sacrifice.' The Library was formally dedicated in a ceremony that took place in Gaston Hall. Dr. Donald R. Penn, long-time professor of History at Georgetown, delivered the dedicatory address in which he described the opening of Lauinger as 'a giant step forward' and 'a milestone is the history of Georgetown.'
All Rights Reserved by Georgetown University Library.